THE QUEEN’S GAMBIT centers on Beth Harmon, a young woman who as a child discovers an astonishing talent for chess. With the help of the janitor at the orphanage where she has been left, her natural abilities flourish, despite her growing dependency on the tranquilizers which have been provided by the state to sedate the children. Haunted by her personal demons and burdened with the gift of genius, Beth navigates her social awkwardness amongst peers and her overconfident ego behind a chessboard. Fueled by a cocktail of narcotics and obsession, she evolves into an impressively skilled and glamorous outcast, determined to conquer the traditional boundaries in the male-dominated world of competitive chess. The cast is led by Anya Taylor-Joy (Emma) as Beth Harmon, and features Thomas Brodie-Sangster (Godless),Bill Camp (The Night Of), Moses Ingram (Macbeth), Harry Melling (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, The Old Guard), Marielle Heller (A Walk Among the Tombstones), Jacob Fortune-Lloyd (Medici ), and Marcin Dorocinski (Roza). Co-created by Allan Scott (Don’t Look Now) and Academy Award-nominated and Emmy-nominated director Scott Frank (Godless) , who also directed and adapted the limited series from Walter Tevis’ novel of the same name. Allan Scott, Scott Frank, and William Horberg (The Talented Mr. Ripley) serve as executive producers. Scott Frank reunites with his Godless director of photography Steven Meizler, editor Michelle Tesoro, and Emmy-winning composer Carlos Rafael Rivera. The Queen’s Gambit marks the first time Frank has collaborated with production designer Uli Hanisch (Cloud Atlas), costume designer Gabriele Binder (The Lives of Others) and head of hair & makeup, Daniel Parker (Chernobyl).

Watch trailer


Primetime Emmy Awards
Gewonnen - Primetime Emmy Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series
William Horberg; Alan Scott; Scott Frank; Mick Aniceto; Marcus Loges
Gewonnen - Outstanding Directing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Scott Frank
Gewonnen - Outstanding Casting for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Tatjana Moutchnik; Olivia Scott-Webb; Anna-Lena Slater Kate Sprance; Stephanie Maile; Tina Gerussi;Ellen Lewis
Gewonnen - Outstanding Production Design for a Narrative Period or Fantasy Program (One Hour or More)
Uli Hanisch; Kai Koch; Sabine Schaaf
Gewonnen - Outstanding Period Costumes
Gabriele Binder; Gina Krauss; Katrin Hoffmann; Nanrose Buchman; Sparka Lee Hall
Gewonnen - Outstanding Period and/or Character Makeup (Non-Prosthetic)
Daniel Parker
Gewonnen - Outstanding Music Composition for a Limited or Anthology Series, Movie or Special (Original Dramatic Score)
Carlos Rafael Rivera
Nominiert - Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Anya Taylor-Joy
Nominiert - Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Moses Ingram
Nominiert - Outstanding Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Scott Frank
Nominiert - Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie
Thomas Brodie-Sangster
Screen Actors Guild Awards
Gewonnen - Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series
Any Taylor-Joy
Nominiert - Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series
Bill Camp
Gewonnen -
Gewonnen -
Gewonnen -
Gewonnen -
AFI Awards
Gewonnen - TV Program of the Year
Gewonnen -
American Society of Cinematographers, USA
Gewonnen - Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in Motion Picture, Limited Series, or Pilot Made for Television
Steven Meizler
Production Company

A Netflix Original Series

in Coproduction with X Filme Creative Pool

Executive Producers
  • Scott Frank
  • William Horberg
  • Allan Scott
Produced by
  • Scott Frank
  • Allan Scott
Director & script

Scott Frank


Steven Meizler


Roland Winke

Production design

Uli Hanisch

Costume Design

Gabriele Binder

Hair and make-Up

Daniel Parker


Michelle Tesoro


Carlos Rafael Rivera

  • Anya Taylor-Joy
  • Marielle Heller
  • Thomas Brodie-Sangster
  • Moses Ingram
  • Harry Melling
  • Bill Camp
Chess consulting
  • Bruce Pandolfini
  • Garry Kasparov